Danny Gregory on “the reason why I draw”

DannyGregory_small“My drawings began as a way to count my blessings. To study, capture, catalog the things that, despite it all, make my life rich.
First, my immediate surroundings: The sun that falls on my notepad. Jack’s new paintings on the fridge. The slow tumble of a dust bunny under the dining table.
I try to feel these blessings, to become part of them and their source, whatever that is. And that communion, not these drawings, is the reason why I draw.”

 – Danny Gregory, Everyday Matters

Leave a Reply

