Inside you is a house

What is home to you?

I recently started an online art journaling course with Juliana Coles of the Institute For Extreme Journalism. The course is called Inititation and it feels like the perfect vehicle for diving deeper with my art journaling exploration. This question comes from one of our first assignments.

One of the things I love about art journaling is that you don’t need to know what it is you want to express when you start working on a page. Or you might have an idea what you want to say but not how to say it. You can begin anywhere and let the process itself bring images to the surface from somewhere deep inside.

For this piece, I began by covering the page with white gesso and adding in a little colour here and there with some water-soluble wax pastels. Then I wrote down thoughts and associations about home using india ink and a quill pen. I used connected lettering to make one long, ongoing sentence until I had covered the whole page. As I was writing, an image came to me of a person with a house inside them and I continued from there.

I drew on much of what I have been learning this season at Get Messy: connected lettering, drawing techniques, creating texture, and working in layers. I also felt the influence of the Totems class I recently took with Vanessa Oliver-Lloyd: the techniques we used to create the floating women when working with the ancestors and the power of using a personal symbol in a spread.

Inside you is a house
and in the house is a girl
and in the girl is a world…

Leave a Reply

